© 2019 Buckland Newton Community Website Committee                         Last updated 23rd October 2019 11:30              Website design and update by Jeremy Collins

Local Directory

Local Businesses

Aerials & Satellites

L T Morris & Sons, Dorchester 01305 262170

Agricultural Supplies

Mole Valley Farmers, Yeovil 01935 420971 www.molevalleyfarmers.com

Mole Country Stores, Dorchester 01305 262141 www.molecountrystores.co.uk

Woodrow Feeds, Hazelbury Bryan 01258 817134

Accountants

Edwards & Keeping, Dorchester 01305 251333 www.edwardsandkeeping.co.uk

Alterations & Sewing (see Sewing)

Alternative Therapies

Acupressure (EF Technique) 01300 341102

Animal Care

The Dorset Cattery  01300 341102

Dog Kennels - Pets Haven, Leigh  01963 210372

Dog Rescue - Doreen Cheeseman  01300  345463

Dog Grooming - Kingston Maurwood Grooming Centre  01305 215071

Angel Rabbit Rescue & Re-housing (Amanda Mullins)  07899 951272

Architects

Andrew Stone Architect Ltd 01300 345432 www.andrewstonearchitect.co.uk

Auctioneers

H Y Dukes, Dorchester 01305 265080 www.dukes-auctions.com

Charterhouse, Sherborne 01935 812277 www.charterhouse-auction.com

Auto Dealers

Halcyon Motors Ltd 01258 839209 www.halcyonmotors.co.uk

Longburton Garage Car Sales 01963 210747 www.longburtoncarsltd.co.uk

Auto Engineers/Parts/Servicing/MOTs

BNG Auto Services, Pulham (Phil) 01300 345228 www.bngautoservices.co.uk

Kings Stag Garage 01258 817350

West Dorset Motor Company, Court Farm 01300 345531

David Vincent’s Land Rover Spares & Parts 01305 262060 or 07766 165721

Bed & Breakfast

Holyleas House, BN 01300 345214 www.holyleashouse.co.uk

Whiteways, Bookham 01300 345511

www.bookhamcourt.co.uk/accommodation/farmhouse-bb.html

Blinds (see Curtains/Blinds)

Boarding Kennels (see Animal Care)

Boilers  (see Plumbing and Heating)

Buckland Newton Hire

Septic Tanks, Groundworks, Self Drive Plant Hire etc. Court Farm 01300 345531

www.bnh.co.uk

Building Contractors

Jim Froud Building Contractors Ltd 01258 817929 www.jimfroudbuilder.co.uk

Pete Nickisson 01300 345319

Mintern Building & Landscaping Ltd  07977 070703 or 01963 371453

www.minternbuild.co.uk

Matt Gardiner (Patios)  07879 048591 or 01305 262879

Wessex Carpentry and Builders Ltd. 01300 320 892 / 07733 226547

www.wessexcarpentryandbuilders.co.uk

Cake Decorating (see Catering)

Camp Sites

Gaggle of Geese - Shepherd Huts & Camping  01300 345249

Giants head Caravan Site  01300 641242

Car Hire (see Taxis)

Car Servicing (see Auto Engineers)

Care Providers

Agincare - Head Office 01305 769418 www.agincare.com

Apex Care - Head Office 0845 603 4743

Bluebird Care - Dorchester Office 01305 236 655 www.apexprimecare.org

Live In Care Agency - Dorchester 0800 001 6072 www.liveincareagency.com 

Carpenters/Joiners

Brockhampton Kitchen Carpentry (Shaun Sims)  Tel. t.b.a.

Newton Joinery  01300 345833

J & A Ridell, Alton Pancras 01300 348161

Daniel Slate – Middlemarsh 07936 157008

Wessex Carpentry and Builders Ltd. 01300 320 892 / 07733 226547

www.wessexcarpentryandbuilders.co.uk

Carpets

Bartletts Carpets 01963 362880 www.bartlettscarpets.com

Dorchester Carpets  01305 251385

Carpet Cleaning

Bay Tree Cleaning Company, Cosmore 01300 345596 www.baytreecleaning.com

Catering

The Foodie Queen - Heather Slack 01300 345582. High quality catering & cookery school.

www.thefoodiequeen.co.uk

Wedding and Celebration Cakes 07818 201074 - Lisa Notley, Pulham

lisanotleycakedesign.co.uk

Helen Furness, Cerne Abbas 01300 341212

www.directory.cernevalley.co.uk/company/helen-furness-catering-ltd/

Thyme after Thyme - Margot Eavis 01258 818004 www.thymeaftertime.co.uk

Central Heating Engineers (see Plumbers & Heating Engineers)

Children’s Entertainment

Crafty Arty World (Prop Hire & Events Organiser) – Kitty Ebdon 01300 345397

www.craftyartyworld.com

Chimney Sweep

Chris Perrins Chimney Sweep 07824 698109 / 01258 837449 www.csweep.co.uk

Sooty the Sweep 01929 427427 www.sootythesweep.com 

Rob Wood  01300 345660

J Stockley (Electrical Sweep)  07788 436969 or 1305 771166

Chiropodist/Podiatrist

Barsky & Hawkins, Dorchester 01305 265850

Glencairn House, Sherborne 01935 817442 www.glencairnhouse.co.uk 

West Dorset Mobile Foot Clinic  07903 722542 (Roy Fox)  07712 525058 (Christine Fox) 

www.westdorsetmobilefootclinic.com

Cleaners (Domestic)

Bay Tree Cleaning Company, Cosmore 01300 345596 www.baytreecleaning.com

Coal Merchants

Northover Fuels 01258 472619 www.northover-fuels.co.uk

Ron Darch Fuels 01935 421731 www.darchcoal.com

Computer Support

Computer Aide – Lysander Parsons 01300 345656 www.computeraide.co.uk

The Cartridge Family 01258 880050 www.thecartridgefamily.co.uk

Tony Howes MCP 07748 8667663/01305 260086

Jurassic Computers - Poundbury  01305 755668

Concrete Flooring

R M Mogridge  01963 363208

Counselling

Rebecca Dolbear.  07818 703747 www.rebeccadolbear.co.uk

Crafts

“Aspire” Models & Gifts, Court Farm 01300 345355 www.aspiregiftsandmodels.co.uk

The Buckland Gallery, at The Old Chapel Stores  07870 642443 www.bucklandgallery.co.uk

Hare Styles, Bespoke Crafts & Fine Art  07870 642443

Curtains (also see Sewing/Soft Furnishings)

Nina Thompson 01300 345561  e-mail: bhgdorset@gmail.com

Decorating (see Painters & Decorators)

Dog Walking (see Animal Care)

Dog Grooming (see Animal Care)

Domestic Appliance Repairs (Washing Machines, Freezers etc)

Ian Coombs, Piddletrenthide 01300 348684

Domestic Appliance, Dorchester  01305 264951

Doors and Windows/Double Glazing

Bill Butters Windows 01935 816168 www.billbutterswindows.co.uk

Newglaze, Sturminster Newton 01258 473377 www.newglaze.co.uk

Thermaglaze (inc Firmseal) 01935 432282 www.thermaglaze.com

Valecraft (inc Dave Graham Windows) 0808 100 1387 www.valecraft.co.uk

Drives (see Concrete Flooring)

Electrical Engineers/Electricians

Stephen P White, Duntish 01300 345431

P N Gray Electrical Contractors 01258 837354

Croft Electrical  01305 889935 or 07900 082061 www.croftelectrical.co.uk

Electricity Supply (see Utilities)

Estate Agents

Dorset Lettings, Sherborne 01935 815300 www.dorsetlettings.co.uk

Humberts, Sherborne 01935 812323 www.humberts.com

Jackson-Stops & Staff, Dorchester 01305 262123 www.jackson-stops.co.uk

Symonds & Sampson, Dorchester 01305 265 058 www.symondsandsampson.co.uk

Fencing

Tony Perrett, Middlemarsh 07971 296992 or 01963 210430 www.perrettfencing.co.uk

Gregory’s Fencing 01300 342041 / 07976 829623 www.gregoryslandscapes.co.uk

Townsend Fencing, Pulham 01300 345220 www.townsendtimber.co.uk

Financial Services

Poundbury Wealth Management 01305 266866 www.poundburywealth.co.uk

Fishing

Revels Coarse Fishing, Cosmore 01300 345301

Lyons Gate Caravan Park (5 lakes) 01300 345260 www.lyons-gate.co.uk/fishing.html

Hermitage Fishing Lakes 01963 210556

Flowers Farm Trout Lakes, Hillfield 01300 341351 www.flowersfarmlakes.co.uk

Fitness Instructors / Personal Trainers / Pilates

Charlton Down Health & Fixing Centre  01305 757200

Liz Ward - Personal Trainer  01305 757200

Matt Benjamin - Personal Trainer 07500 894503 www.1on1personalfitness.co.uk

Sammie - Pilates  www.sammiemcfarland.co.uk 07807 090 013

Food Services

Primrose Kitchen (Breakfast Cereal Mfrs), Eden Park, Brockhampton  01300 345226

Funeral Directors

Grassby & Sons Ltd 01305 262338 www.grassby-funeral.co.uk

Woods, Dorchester 01305 250425 www.woodsfuneralservices.co.uk

Peter Jackson, Henstridge 01963 362570

Furniture & Kitchens (see Carpenters/Joiners)

Gaggle of Geese

Licensees - Simon & Sarah Colquhoun  01300 345249

Game Shoots

Three Valleys Shoot, Court & Knap Farms 01300 345378 www.threevalleysshoot.co.uk

Garages (see Auto Engineers or Petrol)

Gardening Services

Rolls Landscaping Ltd - Robert Rolls  07717 678415 www.rollslandscapingltd.co.uk

Garden Machinery Repairs

P Chapman-Smith, Middlemarsh 01963 210226

KDS Garden Machinery, Middlemarsh 01300 345783 www.kdsgardenmachinery.com

Gas Suppliers

Old Chapel Stores (bottled Calor) 01300 345336

Calorgas, Stalbridge (bulk) 01963 362542 www.stalbridge.cylex-uk.co.uk

Mole Country Stores, Dorchester (bottled Flogas) 01305 262141 www.molecountrystores.co.uk

Giants Head Caravan Site (bottled Calor) 01300 341242 www.giantshead.co.uk

Kings Stag Garage (bottled Calor) 01258 817350

Gates and Wrought Iron Work (see Welding & Fabrication)

Groundworks

Buckland Newton Hire 01300 345531 www.bnh.co.uk

Jim Froud Building Contractor Ltd 01258 817929 www.jimfroudbuilder.co.uk

Hairdressers

Jaspers, Piddletrenthide 01300 348569 www.jasperssalon.moonfruit.com

LSP Hair Design 01300 345578 / 07780 767573 www.lsphairdesign.com

Handyman

Gary Holley - General Building/Garden/Handyman/Paving  07545 257186 gary.holley@aol.com

Hedge Layer

Rob Wood  (local)  07527 347179

Heating Oil Suppliers (see Oil Suppliers)

Henley Hillbillies (see Outdoor Activities)

Holiday Cottages

Bookham Court, Bookham BN 01300 345511 www.bookhamcourt.co.uk

Church Farm Stables, Buckland Newton 01300 345315

www.dorsetholidaycottages.co.uk/cottages/dt2_7bx/church_farm_stables

Duntish Mill Farm (AirBNB) Sam Sowerby  01300 345721

Duntish Old Farmhouse (AirBNB) George Horn 01300 345791

White Horse Farm, Middlemarsh 01963 210621

www.visit-dorset.com/accommodation/white-horse-farm-p72573

Honey (local)

Kevin Pope, Buckland Newton  07885 293378 

House Sitting/Animal Minding (also see Animal Care)

Pamela Evans (Housesitting Service) 01300 345753 Mobile - 07912 622787

House Clearance

George Horn (Duntish)  07793 815763 or 01300 345791

Housing

BN Community Property Trust Ltd (Lydden Meadow); Chairman – Andrew Stone 01300

345425 www.lyddenmeadow.co.uk

Magna Housing Group 01305 216000 www.magna.org.uk

Hastoe Housing Association 01305 250103 www.hastoe.com

Industrial Units

Units to let at Court Farm - Martin Perrett 01300 345378

Units to let at Millers Farm - Andy Foot 01300 345511

Insulation

Caice Insulation, Eden Park, Brockhampton  01300 345164

Jaspers (see Hairdressers)

Kitchens (see Carpenters/Joiners)

Liquid Waste Disposal

Buckland Newton Hire, Court Farm 01300 345531 www.bnh.co.uk

Pete White 01963 370924

Locksmith

The Dorset Locksmith - Douglas Dearing 01300 345448 www.dorsetlock.co.uk

Logs

David Pomeroy 01258 817734

Gregory’s Fencing 01305 751777 www.gregoryslandscapes.co.uk

Hazelbury Timber Supplies 07930 120456 / 01963 23608 www.hazelburytimbersupplies.co.uk

Simon 07977 668848

Machinery Hire

Buckland Newton Hire, Court Farm 01300 345531 www.bnh.co.uk

Kings Stag Garage 01258 817350

Marquee Hire

Ernest J Hart Ltd 01258 881047 www.ernestghart.co.uk

Meat Suppliers

Organic Lamb & Spit Roasts 07971 279611; Brockhampton Farm - Robert Dunning

Milk Deliveries

Dairy Crest Ltd (Milk and More) 0845 6063606.  Deliveries to BN Mon, Wed & Friday 01305

786622

MOTs (see Auto Engineers)

Mower Servicing (see Garden Machinery)

Music Tuition

In Tune with Music - Ms D Batten 01300 345880 (clarinet/violin/theory)

Newlands Training (see Training Services)

Oil Suppliers

Watson Petroleum, Dorchester 01305 263965 www.watsonfuels.co.uk

Fuelcare, Sturminster Newton 01258 473400

Northover Fuels 01258 472619 www.northover-fuels.co.uk

Minster Fuels, Dorchester 0800 169 4981 www.minsterfuels.co.uk

Ron Darch Fuels 01935 421731 www.darchcoal.com

Oil Tanks

Darch Oil, Yeovil. 01935 473302 www.darchoil.com

Fourniers 01305 262411 www.fourniersltd.co.uk

Pearce Energy  01935 816966 www.pearce-energy.co.uk

Mole Valley Farmers, Yeovil 01935 420971

www.molevalleyfarmers.com/mvf/info/store-finder/Yeovil

Opticians (see Medical)

Organic/Natural Food Shops

Green Valley, Godmanstone 01300 342164

Outdoor Activities

Henley Hillbillies & Badger Watch (Mark Needham) 01300 345293 www.henleyhillbillies.co.uk

Painters and Decorators

Mark O’Sullivan 01963 210297

Peter Downton, Cerne Abbas 01300 342014

Alan Lawrence 07733 364568 or 01460 419816

Patios (see Builders)

Personal Trainers (see Fitness Instructors)

Pest Control

Pestwright (Jim Wright) 01963 362292 www.pestwright.co.uk

Bug Busters 01929 460011 / 07973 407027

Pet Care/Pet Foods

Oscars Pet Foods 01258 818341

The Dorset Cattery  01300 341881 www.thedorsetcattery.co.uk

Petrol/Diesel

Kings Stag Garage 01258 817350

Pilates

Sammie Mcfarland  07807 090013  www.sammiemcfarland.co.uk 

Photography

Jonathan Gooding 01300 348620 www.jonathan-gooding.co.uk

Greg Cameron-Day 01305 267211 www.gregcameronday.com

Chris Mason  07881 805785  ChrisMasonphotography@btinternet.com 

Plant Hire

Buckland Newton Hire, Court Farm 01300 345378 www.bnh.co.uk 

King Stag Garage 01258 817350

Plasterers

Ben Lewington 01305 263645 www.dorsetplasterers.com

Pete Nickisson 01300 345319

Plumbers & Heating Engineers

G Chubb 01300 348732

Complete Heat Services 01300 348285

Heatcare (UK) Ltd, Dorchester 01305 853970 / 07557 990715 www.heatcareukltd.com

Tom Rush (Heating Services)  01305 257387

Stephen P White, Duntish 01300 345431

P R Elford Ltd 01305 264164 (formerly John Howarth Heating) www.prelford.co.uk

Caplen Plumbing & Heating  01963 210433 / 07779 801663

Aquaheat Services Ltd. 07833 580241

Plumb Local - Matt Bevan  07775 793268

Rob Wiseman - Boilers/AGA/Rayburn Specialist  01300 320489

Police

(Non-Emergency Number – 101)

Safer Neighbourhood Police Officers 07500 816291 (see Local Information for details)

Post Office

Outreach Service: Village Hall, Buckland Newton, Monday, Tuesday & Friday mornings – 9 am-

12 noon

Post Collection

Mon-Fri 4.30pm & Sat 11.00am from Old Chapel Stores.  Also from post box close to Gaggle of

Geese, Duntish, Cosmore, Parish Pavilion & Henley

Poultry Auctions

Magpie Auctions at Revels (Merritt)  07809 294390  Held first Sunday in month

Poultry Housing & Bird Tables

Flyte so Fancy, Pulham 01300 345229 www.flytesofancy.co.uk

Public Houses

Gaggle of Geese, Buckland Newton www.facebook.com/gaggleofgeesepub/

Halsey Arms, Pulham 01258 817344 www.thehalseyarmspulham.co.uk

Poachers Inn, Piddletrenthide 01300 348358 www.thepoachersinn.co.uk

Piddle Inn, Piddletrenthide  01300 348468 

Thimble Inn, Piddlehinton 01300 348270 www.thimbleinn.co.uk

Hunters Moon, Middlemarsh 01963 210966 www.hunters-moon.org.uk

New Inn, Cerne Abbas 01300 341274 www.thenewinncerneabbas.co.uk

Royal Oak, Cerne Abbas 01300 341797 www.theroyaloakcerneabbas.co.uk

Giant Inn (was Red Lion), Cerne Abbas 01300 341441 www.thegiantinncerneabbas.co.uk

Green Man, Kings Stag  01258 920023

Brace of Pheasants, Plush 01300 348357 www.braceofpheasants.co.uk

Removal Services

Armishaws Removals & Storage 0845 270 3350 www.armishaws.com/index.html

Woods, Dorchester 01305 257704 www.woodsremovals.co.uk

Man and a Van - George Horn  01300 345791 / 07793 815763 thegeorgehorn@hotmail.com

Roofing

Martin Tucker 07866 189400/ 01305 848518 info@ctagg.co.uk

Sand, Gravel & Aggregate Suppliers

County Town Aggregates  01305  858805 www.countytownaggregates.co.uk

Scaffolding

Clayson Scaffolding, Middlemarsh 01300 345334

Security

Doug Dearing  - Locksmith  01300 345488

Septic Tank Emptying (see Liquid Waste Disposal)

Sewing/Soft Furnishing

Hilary Charlesworth, Minterne Magna 01300 341845

Anna B Designs 01300 341623

Nina Thompson 01300 345561  e-mail: bhgdorset@gmail.com

Shops

Old Chapel Stores, Buckland Newton   01300 345336 www.facebook.com/OldChapelStores

Piddletrenthide PO Stores 01300 348330

Cerne Abbas Stores & Post Office 01300 341395 www.cerneabbasstores.co.uk

Skip Hire

Clive Smith 07974 822243 www.clivesmithskips.co.uk

Buckland Newton Hire (15-40 yd skips) 01300 345378 www.bnh.co.uk

Solicitors

Blanchards Bailey LLP, Dorchester 01305 251222 www.blanchardsbailey.co.uk

Battens, Dorchester 01305 250560 www.battens.co.uk

Porter Dodson, Dorchester 01305 262525 www.porterdodson.co.uk

Storage (see Industrial Units)

Taxi Services

Abbotts Taxis 01300 348600

Telephone (see Utilities – British Telecom)

Thatcher

Alex Frost and John Butler – Master Thatcher, Cheselbourne 01258 837538

www.jbmasterthatcher.co.uk

Vincent Vaughan - Master Thatcher, Weymouth. 01305 783173 / 07703 044546

https://vincentvaughanmasterthatcher.co.uk

Timber Supplies

Dorchester Timber Ltd 01305 269822 www.dorchestertimber.co.uk

Mole Valley Farmers, Yeovil 01935 420971

www.molevalleyfarmers.com/mvf/info/store-finder/Yeovil

Stalbridge Timber 01963 363174 www.stalbridge-timber.co.uk

Townsend Fencing, Pulham 01300 345220 www.townsendtimber.co.uk

Training Services

Newlands Training Ltd, Piddlehinton 01305 848454 www.newlandstraining.co.uk

Travel Agents

Crossways Travel 01305 851697 www.crosswaystravel.co.uk

Tree Surgery/Maintenance

Patrick Needham 07899 924545

David Pomeroy 01258 817734

Undertakers (see Funeral Directors)

Veterinary Surgeons

Castle Veterinary Clinic 01305 267083 www.castlevets.co.uk

Southfield Veterinary Centre 01305 262913 www.southfieldvet.co.uk

Weatherbury Veterinary Clinic 01305 848221

Water Services

Wessex Water (see Utilities)

Simon Moore, Dorchester 01305 251551 www.simon-moore.com

Affordable Drainage Ltd 01258 817599

Welding and Steel Fabrication

Cahill Welding & Fabrication, Middlemarsh 01300 345856 www.cahillstructures.co.uk

Richard Goodfellow 01300 345508

Snashall Steel Fabrication, Pulham 01300 345588 www.snashallsteel.co.uk

Window Cleaning

Dan Gina & Steve Reynolds 07969 947047 01305 835800 www.dangina.com

Bob Govan - Beaulieu Wood  07590 121772 or 01300 345722

Buckland Newton Community Website
in the heart of rural Dorset