© 2004-2018 Buckland Newton Community Website Committee                      Last updated 19th May 2018 08:25              Website design and update by Jeremy Collins

Local Directory

Local Businesses

Aerials & Satellites

L T Morris & Sons, Dorchester 01305 262170

Agricultural Supplies

Mole Valley Farmers, Yeovil 01935 420971 www.molevalleyfarmers.com

Mole Country Stores, Dorchester 01305 262141 www.molecountrystores.co.uk

Woodrow Feeds, Hazelbury Bryan 01258 817134

Accountants

Edwards & Keeping, Dorchester 01305 251333 www.edwardsandkeeping.co.uk

Alterations & Sewing (see Sewing)

Alternative Therapies

Acupressure (EF Technique) 01300 341102

Animal Care

Barkers Dog Grooming Salon, Middlemarsh 01300 345774

Antique Clock Conservator/Restorer

Peter Brailey, Abacus Clocks, Henley 01300 345799 /  07442 497785

peterbrailey@hotmail.co.uk

Architects

Andrew Stone Architect Ltd 01300 345432 www.andrewstonearchitect.co.uk

Auctioneers

H Y Dukes, Dorchester 01305 265080 www.dukes-auctions.com

Charterhouse, Sherborne 01935 812277 www.charterhouse-auction.com

Auto Dealers

Halcyon Motors Ltd 01258 839209 www.halcyonmotors.co.uk

Longburton Garage Car Sales 01963 210747 www.longburtoncarsltd.co.uk

Auto Engineers/Parts/Servicing/MOTs

BNG Auto Services, Pulham (Phil) 01300 345228 www.bngautoservices.co.uk

Kings Stag Garage 01258 817350

West Dorset Motor Company, Court Farm 01300 345531

David Vincent’s Land Rover Spares & Parts 01305 262060 or 07766 165721

Bed & Breakfast

Holyleas House, BN 01300 345214 www.holyleashouse.co.uk

Whiteways, Bookham 01300 345511

www.bookhamcourt.co.uk/accommodation/farmhouse-bb.html

Blinds (see Curtains/Blinds)

Boarding Kennels (see Animal Care)

Buckland Newton Hire

Septic Tanks, Groundworks, Self Drive Plant Hire etc. Court Farm 01300 345531

www.bnh.co.uk

Building Contractors

Blackmore Timber Engineering Ltd 01300 345186 www.blackmoretimberengineering.com

Jim Froud Building Contractors Ltd 01258 817929 www.jimfroudbuilder.co.uk

Pete Nickisson 01300 345319

The Barefoot Building Co. Cosmore 07742 748692

Mintern Building & Landscaping Ltd  07977 070703 or 01963 371453

www.minternbuild.co.uk

Wessex Carpentry and Builders Ltd. 01300 320 892 / 07733 226547

www.wessexcarpentryandbuilders.co.uk

Cake Decorating (see Catering)

Car Hire (see Taxis)

Car Servicing (see Auto Engineers)

Care Providers

Agincare - Head Office 01305 769418 www.agincare.com

Apex Care - Head Office 0845 603 4743

Bluebird Care - Dorchester Office 01305 236 655 www.apexprimecare.org

Carpenters/Joiners

Newton Joinery  01300 345833

Oorana, Brockhampton  01300 345102 www.designsbymw.co.uk

J & A Ridell, Alton Pancras 01300 348161

Luke Wycherley - Court Farm 07702 566285

Daniel Slate – Middlemarsh 07936 157008

Wessex Carpentry and Builders Ltd. 01300 320 892 / 07733 226547

www.wessexcarpentryandbuilders.co.uk

Carpets

Bartletts Carpets 01963 362880 www.bartlettscarpets.com

Carpet Cleaning

Bay Tree Cleaning Company, Cosmore 01300 345596 www.baytreecleaning.com

Catering

The Foodie Queen - Heather Slack 01300 345582. High quality catering & cookery school.

www.thefoodiequeen.co.uk

Wedding and Celebration Cakes 07818 201074 - Lisa Notley, Pulham

lisanotleycakedesign.co.uk

Helen Furness, Cerne Abbas 01300 341212

www.directory.cernevalley.co.uk/company/helen-furness-catering-ltd/

Thyme after Thyme - Margot Eavis 01258 818004 www.thymeaftertime.co.uk

Central Heating Engineers (see Plumbers & Heating Engineers)

Children’s Entertainment

Crafty Arty Parties – Kitty Ebdon 01300 345397 www.craftyartyworld.com

Chiropodist/Podiatrist

Barsky & Hawkins, Dorchester 01305 265850

Glencairn House, Sherborne 01935 817442 www.glencairnhouse.co.uk

Chimney Sweep

Chris Perrins Chimney Sweep 07824 698109/01305 849470

Sooty the Sweep 01929 427427 www.sootythesweep.com

Cleaners (Domestic)

Bay Tree Cleaning Company, Cosmore 01300 345596 www.baytreecleaning.com

Clothing

The Country Catalogue, Kings Stag 01258 817666 www.country-catalogue.co.uk

Coal Merchants

Northover Fuels 01258 472619 www.northover-fuels.co.uk

Ron Darch Fuels 01935 421731 www.darchcoal.com

Computer Support

Computer Aide – Lysander Parsons 01300 345656 www.computeraide.co.uk

The Cartridge Family 01258 880050 www.thecartridgefamily.co.uk

Tony Howes MCP 07748 8667663/01305 260086

Counselling

Rebecca Dolbear.  07818 703747 www.rebeccadolbear.co.uk

Crafts

“Aspire” Models & Gifts, Court Farm 01300 345355 www.aspiregiftsandmodels.co.uk

The Buckland Gallery, at The Old Chapel Stores  07870 642443 www.bucklandgallery.co.uk

Hare Styles, Bespoke Crafts & Fine Art  07870 642443

Curtains (also see Sewing/Soft Furnishings)

Nina Thompson 01300 345561  e-mail: bhgdorset@gmail.com

Decorating (see Painters & Decorators)

Dog Walking (see Animal Care)

Dog Grooming (see Animal Care)

Domestic Appliance Repairs (Washing Machines, Freezers etc)

Ian Coombs, Piddletrenthide 01300 348684

Doors and Windows/Double Glazing

Bill Butters Windows 01935 816168 www.billbutterswindows.co.uk

Newglaze, Sturminster Newton 01258 473377 www.newglaze.co.uk

Thermaglaze (inc Firmseal) 01935 432282 www.thermaglaze.com

Valecraft (inc Dave Graham Windows) 0808 100 1387 www.valecraft.co.uk

Electrical Engineers/Electricians

Stephen P White, Duntish 01300 345431

P N Gray Electrical Contractors 01258 837354

Jim Brown 07818 490437 or 01297 446059

Croft Electrical  01305 889935 or 07900 082061 www.croftelectrical.co.uk

Estate Agents

Dorset Lettings, Sherborne 01935 815300 www.dorsetlettings.co.uk

Humberts, Sherborne 01935 812323 www.humberts.com

Jackson-Stops & Staff, Dorchester 01305 262123 www.jackson-stops.co.uk

Symonds & Sampson, Dorchester 01305 265 058 www.symondsandsampson.co.uk

Fencing

Tony Perrett, Middlemarsh 01963 210430 www.perrettfencing.co.uk

Gregory’s Fencing 01300 342041 / 07976 829623 www.gregoryslandscapes.co.uk

Townsend Fencing, Pulham 01300 345220 www.townsendtimber.co.uk

Financial Services

Poundbury Wealth Management 01305 266866 www.poundburywealth.co.uk

Fishing

Revels Coarse Fishing, Cosmore 01300 345301

Lyons Gate Caravan Park (5 lakes) 01300 345260 www.lyons-gate.co.uk/fishing.html

Hermitage Fishing Lakes 01963 210556

Flowers Farm Trout Lakes, Hillfield 01300 341351 www.flowersfarmlakes.co.uk

Fitness Instructors / Personal Trainers / Pilates

Matt Benjamin  07500 894503 www.1on1personalfitness.co.uk

Sammie  07807 090 013  www.4everpilates.co.uk

Funeral Directors

Grassby & Sons Ltd 01305 262338 www.grassby-funeral.co.uk

Woods, Dorchester 01305 250425 www.woodsfuneralservices.co.uk

Peter Jackson, Henstridge 01963 362570

Furniture & Kitchens (see Carpenters/Joiners)

Game Shoots

Three Valleys Shoot, Court & Knap Farms 01300 345378 www.threevalleysshoot.co.uk

Garages (see Auto Engineers or Petrol)

Gardening Services

Rolls Landscaping Ltd - Robert Rolls  07717 678415 www.rollslandscapingltd.co.uk

Garden Machinery Repairs

P Chapman-Smith, Middlemarsh 01963 210226

KDS Garden Machinery, Middlemarsh 01300 345783 www.kdsgardenmachinery.com

Gas Suppliers

Old Chapel Stores (bottled Calor) 01300 345336

Calorgas, Stalbridge (bulk) 01963 362542 www.stalbridge.cylex-uk.co.uk

Mole Country Stores, Dorchester (bottled Flogas) 01305 262141 www.molecountrystores.co.uk

Giants Head Caravan Site (bottled Calor) 01300 341242 www.giantshead.co.uk

Kings Stag Garage (bottled Calor) 01258 817350

Gates and Wrought Iron Work (see Welding & Fabrication)

Groundworks

Buckland Newton Hire 01300 345531 www.bnh.co.uk

Jim Froud Building Contractor Ltd 01258 817929 www.jimfroudbuilder.co.uk

Hairdressers

Jaspers, Piddletrenthide 01300 348569 www.jasperssalon.moonfruit.com

LSP Hair Design 01300 345578 / 07780 767573 www.lsphairdesign.com

Heating Oil Suppliers (see Oil Suppliers)

Henley Hillbillies (see Outdoor Activities)

Holiday Cottages

Bookham Court, Bookham BN 01300 345511 www.bookhamcourt.co.uk

Church Farm Stables, Buckland Newton 01300 345315

www.dorsetholidaycottages.co.uk/cottages/dt2_7bx/church_farm_stables

Domineys Cottages, Buckland Newton 01300 345295 www.domineys.com

Little Elkins, Buckland Newton 01300 345835

www.cottage-choice.co.uk/cottages-Little-Elkins-24744.shtml

White Horse Farm, Middlemarsh 01963 210621

www.visit-dorset.com/accommodation/white-horse-farm-p72573

Honey (local)

Kevin Pope, Buckland Newton  07885 293378 

House Sitting/Animal Minding (also see Animal Care)

Pamela Evans (Housesitting Service) 01300 345753 Mobile - 07912622787

Housing

BN Community Property Trust Ltd (Lydden Meadow); Chairman – Andrew Stone 01300

345425 www.lyddenmeadow.co.uk

Magna Housing Group 01305 216000 www.magna.org.uk

Hastoe Housing Association 01305 250103 www.hastoe.com

Interior Designers

Industrial Units

Units to let at Court Farm - Martin Perrett 01300 345378

Units to let at Millers Farm - Andy Foot 01300 345511

PDF Units – Sawmills, Middlemarsh 01300 345525

Jaspers (see Hairdressers)

Kitchens (see Carpenters/Joiners)

Liquid Waste Disposal

Buckland Newton Hire, Court Farm 01300 345531 www.bnh.co.uk

Pete White 01963 370924

Locksmith

The Dorset Locksmith - Douglas Dearing 01300 345448 www.dorsetlock.co.uk

Logs

David Pomeroy 01258 817734

Gregory’s Fencing 01305 751777 www.gregoryslandscapes.co.uk

Hazelbury Timber Supplies 07930 120456/01963 23608 www.hazelburytimbersupplies.co.uk

Simon 07977 668848

Machinery Hire

Buckland Newton Hire, Court Farm 01300 345531 www.bnh.co.uk

Kings Stag Garage 01258 817350

Marquee Hire

Ernest J Hart Ltd 01258 881047 www.ernestghart.co.uk

Meat Suppliers

Organic Lamb & Spit Roasts 07971 279611; Brockhampton Farm - Robert Dunning

Milk Deliveries

Dairy Crest Ltd (Milk and More) 0845 6063606.  Deliveries to BN Mon, Wed & Friday 01305

786622

MOTs (see Auto Engineers)

Mower Servicing (see Garden Machinery)

Music Tuition

In Tune with Music - Ms D Batten 01300 345880 (clarinet/violin/theory)

Newlands Training (see Training Services)

Oil Suppliers

Watson Petroleum, Dorchester 01305 263965 www.watsonfuels.co.uk

Fuelcare, Sturminster Newton 01258 473400

Northover Fuels 01258 472619 www.northover-fuels.co.uk

Minster Fuels, Dorchester 0800 169 4981 www.minsterfuels.co.uk

Ron Darch Fuels 01935 421731 www.darchcoal.com

Oil Tanks

Fourniers 01305 262411 www.fourniersltd.co.uk

Mole Valley Farmers, Yeovil 01935 420971

www.molevalleyfarmers.com/mvf/info/store-finder/Yeovil

Opticians (see Medical)

Organic/Natural Food Shops

Green Valley, Godmanstone 01300 342164

Outdoor Activities

Henley Hillbillies & Badger Watch (Mark Needham) 01300 345293 www.henleyhillbillies.co.uk

Painters and Decorators

Mark O’Sullivan 01963 210297

Peter Downton, Cerne Abbas 01300 342014

Donna & Kate - Decorators 01300 345160

Personal Trainers (see Fitness Instructors)

Pest Control

Pestwright (Jim Wright) 01963 362292 www.pestwright.co.uk

Bug Busters 01929 460011 / 07973 407027

Pet Care/Pet Foods

Oscars Pet Foods 01258 818341

The Dorset Cattery  01300 341881 www.thedorsetcattery.co.uk

Petrol/Diesel

Kings Stag Garage 01258 817350

Picture Framers

Photography

Jonathan Gooding 01300 348620 www.jonathan-gooding.co.uk

Greg Cameron-Day 01305 267211 www.gregcameronday.com

Plant Hire

Buckland Newton Hire, Court Farm 01300 345378 www.bnh.co.uk 

King Stag Garage 01258 817350

Plasterers

Ben Lewington 01305 263645 www.dorsetplasterers.com

Pete Nickisson 01300 345319

Plumbers & Heating Engineers

Jeremy Hurst (Bathrooms and Kitchens) 01258 817567

G Chubb 01300 348732

Complete Heat Services 01300 348285

Heatcare (UK) Ltd, Dorchester 01305 853970 / 07557 990715 www.heatcareukltd.com

Stephen P White, Duntish 01300 345431

P R Elford Ltd 01305 264164 (formerly John Howarth Heating) www.prelford.co.uk

ANZ Boiler Care 01935 83351

Caplen Plumbing & Heating  01963 210433 / 07779 801663

Aquaheat Services Ltd. 07833 580241

Police

(Non-Emergency Number – 101)

Safer Neighbourhood Police Officers 07500 816291 (see Local Information for details)

Post Office

Outreach Service: Village Hall, Buckland Newton, Monday, Tuesday & Friday mornings – 9 am-

12 noon

Post Collection

Mon-Fri 4.30pm & Sat 11.00am from Old Chapel Stores.  Also from post box close to Gaggle of

Geese, Duntish, Cosmore, Parish Room & Henley

Poultry Auctions

Clarke’s Auctions at Revels 07790 055660 Held first Sunday in month

Poultry Housing & Bird Tables

Flyte so Fancy, Pulham 01300 345229 www.flytesofancy.co.uk

Public Houses

Gaggle of Geese, Buckland Newton www.facebook.com/gaggleofgeesepub/

Halsey Arms, Pulham 01258 817344 www.thehalseyarmspulham.co.uk

Poachers Inn, Piddletrenthide 01300 348358 www.thepoachersinn.co.uk

Thimble Inn, Piddlehinton 01300 348270 www.thimbleinn.co.uk

Hunters Moon, Middlemarsh 01963 210966 www.hunters-moon.org.uk

New Inn, Cerne Abbas 01300 341274 www.thenewinncerneabbas.co.uk

Royal Oak, Cerne Abbas 01300 341797 www.theroyaloakcerneabbas.co.uk

Giant Inn, Cerne Abbas 01300 341441 www.thegiantinncerneabbas.co.uk

Green Man, Kings Stag 01258 817338

Brace of Pheasants, Plush 01300 348357 www.braceofpheasants.co.uk

Removal Services

Armishaws Removals & Storage 0845 270 3350 www.armishaws.com/index.html

Woods, Dorchester 01305 257704 www.woodsremovals.co.uk

Man and a Van - George Horn  01300 345791 / 07793 815763 thegeorgehorn@hotmail.com

Roofing

Weatherbury Roofing, Dorchester 01305 213333

Martin Tucker 07866 189400/ 01305 848518 info@ctagg.co.uk

Sand, Gravel & Aggregate Suppliers

County Town Aggregates  01305  858805 www.countytownaggregates.co.uk

Scaffolding

Clayson Scaffolding, Middlemarsh 01300 345334

Septic Tank Emptying (see Liquid Waste Disposal)

Sewing/Soft Furnishing

Hilary Charlesworth, Minterne Magna 01300 341845

Anna B Designs 01300 341623

Nina Thompson 01300 345561  e-mail: bhgdorset@gmail.com

Shops

Old Chapel Stores, Buckland Newton   01300 345336 www.facebook.com/OldChapelStores

Piddletrenthide PO Stores 01300 348330

Cerne Abbas Stores & Post Office 01300 341395 www.cerneabbasstores.co.uk

Skip Hire

Clive Smith 07974 822243 www.clivesmithskips.co.uk

Buckland Newton Hire (15-40 yd skips) 01300 345378 www.bnh.co.uk

Solar Power

Damian Brothers, Caplor Energy 01300 345216 / 07799 241240

Solar Power International, Middlemarsh 0844 504 1317 www.solarpowerintl.co.uk

Solicitors

Blanchards Bailey LLP, Dorchester 01305 251222 www.blanchardsbailey.co.uk

Battens, Dorchester 01305 250560 www.battens.co.uk

Porter Dodson, Dorchester 01305 262525 www.porterdodson.co.uk

Storage

PDF Storage Units, Middlemarsh 01300 345525

Taxi Services

Mike Downes, Rew Lane, BN 01300 345267

Abbotts Taxis 01300 348600

Telephone (see Utilities – British Telecom)

Thatcher

Alex Frost and John Butler – Master Thatcher, Cheselbourne 01258 837538

www.jbmasterthatcher.co.uk

Vincent Vaughan - Master Thatcher, Weymouth. 01305 783173 / 07703 044546

https://vincentvaughanmasterthatcher.co.uk

Timber Supplies

Dorchester Timber Ltd 01305 269822 www.dorchestertimber.co.uk

Mole Valley Farmers, Yeovil 01935 420971

www.molevalleyfarmers.com/mvf/info/store-finder/Yeovil

Stalbridge Timber 01963 363174 www.stalbridge-timber.co.uk

Townsend Fencing, Pulham 01300 345220 www.townsendtimber.co.uk

Training Services

Newlands Training Ltd, Piddlehinton 01305 848454 www.newlandstraining.co.uk

Travel Agents

Crossways Travel 01305 851697 www.crosswaystravel.co.uk

Tree Surgery/Maintenance

Patrick Needham 07899 924545 or 01300 348745

David Pomeroy 01258 817734

Undertakers (see Funeral Directors)

Veterinary Surgeons

Castle Veterinary Clinic 01305 267083 www.castlevets.co.uk

Southfield Veterinary Centre 01305 262913 www.southfieldvet.co.uk

Weatherbury Veterinary Clinic 01305 848221

Water Services

Wessex Water (see Utilities)

Simon Moore, Dorchester 01305 251551 www.simon-moore.com

Affordable Drainage Ltd 01258 817599

Welding and Steel Fabrication

Cahill Welding & Fabrication, Middlemarsh 01300 345856 www.cahillstructures.co.uk

Forged Affairs, Court Farm 01300 345558

Richard Goodfellow 01300 345508

Snashall Steel Fabrication, Pulham 01300 345588 www.snashallsteel.co.uk

Window Cleaning

Dan Gina & Steve Reynolds 07969 947047 01305 835800 www.dangina.com

Buckland Newton Community Website
in the heart of rural Dorset